Love Is In The Air

Last weekend I had the opportunity to attend my first Peruvian wedding! I had asked a friend to go with me and he said he hadn’t recovered from his last wedding. I thought he was being a baby, so on I went to the wedding solo. Well, after experiencing the wedding for myself, I realized he was not exaggerating. It was by far one of the craziest parties I have been to, but it all seemed normal to the other attendees. Here are some of the similarities and differences between weddings in the U.S. and in Peru (or at least the weddings I have been to).

 

Top 5 Similarities
1. The ceremony started off in a church and there was a reception immediately after.
2. There were flower girls and a ring bearer present in the ceremony.
3. The bride & groom shared a first dance together, along with a dance with their parents.
4. The attire at the wedding was almost identical to the U.S. (white dress for bride, tux for men, and fancy attire for guests).
5. Bridesmaids and groomsmen were a thing, though they did not stand beside the couple
during the ceremony, they sat in the first pews of the church.

Top 5 Differences
1. Peruvians can out eat, dance, and drink us Americans. The wedding started at 7pm and
went until 5am.
2. There was a live band that played all night, but we did not do the YMCA, Cha Cha Slide, or the Macarena. Typical music that was played included Cumbia and Salsa.
3. The dinner consisted of a traditional Peruvian meal, including a Pisco Sour. The rest of the night they only served beer, no cocktails.
4. It seemed as lots of people were at the wedding without a date. The only “dates” were people who were seriously dating or married.
5. There is a part of the reception called “la hora loca” (the crazy hour). There are clowns, balloons, and lots of confetti. See picture below.

IMG_2141.jpg
Here in Peru, Valentines Day is celebrated similarily as it is in the States, BUT it is also known as the “Day of Friendship”. What a relief for all the single people. Unfortunately, I spent my Valentines Day recovering from some food poisoning, but many people in my town celebrated by enjoying lunch & dinner together. I couldn’t eat much while I was recovering, but I did manage to get a piece of chocolate. That’s just like medicine, right? I wonder if the extra chocolate is now 50% off, just like in the States…. 😉

xoxo,

Jenna

Leave a Reply

